Materials Lecture Competition 2018

Compiled and Edited by: Prof. Dr. Esah Hamzah, MLC Committee Chairperson, Dr. Nor Akmal Fadil, UTM-MLC Chairperson


Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) was the fourth university selected by IMM Council to host the MLC event. It was jointly organised by IMM, UTM Kuala Lumpur, and UTM Johor Bahru MLC 2018 committee. Due to its strategic location, UTM Kuala Lumpur campus was chosen to be the venue of MLC 2018 and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Astuty Amrin who is based in UTM Kuala Lumpur was selected to be the Chairperson of MLC 2018, whereas Dr. Nor Akmal Fadil and Dr. Nor Hasrul Akhmal Ngadiman who are based in UTM Johor Bahru acted as the Co-Chairpersons of the MLC 2018. Both Dr. Nor Akmal and Dr. Nor Hasrul representing UTM in the MLC Committee 2018-2020. Serba Dinamik Holdings Bhd was the main sponsor of the event together with UTM and IMM.

Details of MLC 2018

  • MLC 2018 Semi-Finals
  • Host: Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)
  • Date: 05th April 2018 (9.00 am-5.00pm)
  • Venue: UTM Kuala Lumpur campus
  • Chairperson: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Astuty Amrin (UTM)
  • Sponsors: UTM, Serba Dinamik Holdings Bhd and IMM
  • Participating Universities (11): UTM, USM, UKM, UM, UTeM, UNITEN, UniMAP, MMU, UPM, UTP, and TAR-UC.

MLC 2018 Semi-Final Judges:

1. Prof. Dr. Che Husna Azhari (USIM)

2. Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Zuraida Ahmad (IIUM)

3. Ir. Dr. Mohd Azman Yahya (UiTM)

4. Ir. Ong Hock Guan (Shell Malaysia

5. Mr. Karthikeyan Supperiamam (Murphy Oil).

Top Five Finalists and Winners:

1. Andrew Ng Kay Lup (UM)

2. Norkhalizatul Akmal Mohd Jamil (UTM)

3. Raffaella Pian Cheau Mei (UTP)

4. Nur Najwa Aqilah Kamrul Zaman (UTeM)

5. Ng Sook Hui (UniMAP)

MLC 2018 Finals

Host: Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)
Date: 03rd May 2018 (9.00am-12.30pm)
Venue: UTM Kuala Lumpur campus
Chairperson: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Astuty Amrin
Sponsors: UTM, Serba Dinamik Holdings Bhd and IMM

MLC2018 Finals Judges:

1. Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Abu Bakar Sulong (UKM)

2. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chan Chin Han (UiTM)

3. Ir. Dr. Azmi Mohammed Nor (PETRONAS)

4. Mr. Kang Kim Ang (Corrtrol Co)

Winners of MLC 2018:

First: Andrew Ng Kay Lup (UM)
Second: Norkhalizatul Akmal Jamil (UTM)
Third: Raffaella Pian Cheau Mei (UTP)

The First Winner of MLC 2018, Andrew Ng Kay Lup from Universiti Malaya (UM), became the Malaysia Finalist and participated in the YPWLC 2018 on 11th October 2018 in Port Elizabeth, South Africa fully sponsored by IOM3, UK. Andrew Ng won third place in the YPWLC 2018. The accompanying person to South Africa was UM-MLC Committee, Dr. Nazatul Liana Sukiman from Universiti Malaya replacing the MLC 2018 Chairperson, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Astuty Amrin, who was unable to go to South Africa. The trip was partly sponsored by IMM.